La Superluna (The Supermoon)

Somehow, I managed to arrange an AcroYoga session for the full moon-and not just any full moon, but a Supermoon!

img_2299

One of the intentions that I set for my time abroad was community integration. To achieve that ideal level of intimacy in a foreign town, I encouraged myself to incorporate activities into my daily schedule that increased my exposure (i.e. face time—no, not the app) out and about in Toledo.

The easiest way to do this is by becoming a patron customer at a local café or fruit vendor. However, I’m not a huge caffeine drinker (and I usually bring my own water anyway), and the fruit vendors’ hours usually conflict with my class schedule. But, as we learned in economics class, there is always an alternative!

What I discovered to be the best option for me: running.

My usual route begins and ends at a local park with play structures. From my very first run until now, I have always seen multiple groups of people doing mind-blowing tricks on them. And yes, my very first thought was: potential AcroYogis!! However, Toledo is a small town, a tight-knit community that is not quick to accept newcomers. So, I kept the thought in the back of my mind.

It’s a good thing I grew up with my mom telling me that, “patience is a virtue.”

Six weeks later, I had my headphones on, listening to my “Latin workout song playlist,” about to do my nightly handstands on the play structures, before I headed back home to eat dinner (and watch my favorite trivia game show “Pasapalabra”). However, I saw two women approaching me- I couldn’t hear anything with the headphones on. But, they continued to come closer to me- lips still moving. It was at this point that I realized that one of the women was actually trying to talk to me!

We shared a nice conversation (yes, it was all in Spanish) about how she had noticed that I “trained” (i.e. worked out) consistently in the area. She said that I looked strong and athletic, and she asked if I played any sports, to which I replied: ACROYOGA.

Amazingly, her and her friends had tried to do AcroYoga by themselves in the past, so we made plans to get together on the night of the Supermoon for an AcroYoga session!!

We had a great turn out with the Supermoon on our side. I found myself helping a wide spectrum of people, from enthusiastic children to curious adults. It was certainly an interesting experience, as 1) I’m a student of AcroYoga (not an instructor) and 2) I’m not a native Spanish-speaker (my AcroYoga vocabulary is a work in progress in both English and Spanish). Nonetheless, many asked me if I was the “teacher” of the event, which made me laugh on the inside.

img_2335

This overall experience was certainly a lesson that demonstrated the power of our minds to manifest our dream-like realities, as well as the generous nature of the Universe, which will always provide when our hearts are open to it. A friend of mine reminded me the other day that our good vibes (that is, our potential to realize our personal happiness) is always within us. And, I could not agree more. If you had told me a few months ago that I would have met some strangers in a park who were interested in AcroYoga and that I would be flying under the Supermoon in Toledo during a community jam session, I would have smiled politely and changed the conversation topic.

All I can say is: keep on manifesting your heart with your mind through your actions!

Paz, Amor y Felicidad,

Rowan

Leave a Reply

