Running with Firemen

I ended up running with three firefighters this week in Toledo.

img_1572
Fire station: Toledo, Spain

I was on an evening run when I passed by a few runners for the second time that night. As I was about to pass by, they invited me to join them.

We had time to learn about each other while on their normal route, which was in close proximity to the fire station since they were on-call. We even ran up a tower that I would not have had the chance to enter without them!

They thought that I had only started learning Spanish when I arrived this semester, so they told me that I spoke Spanish very well. I had to tell them that I started learning the language almost a decade ago (slightly not as impressive).

I’m still relatively new to the city/country; however, I appreciate all of the random encounters that I have shared with welcoming individuals. I am grateful for all of the friendly strangers that I have met thus far not only in Spain, but also in Portugal and Morocco!

It’s really difficult to believe that our semester is almost over; however, there is still plenty of time to meet myriad new people before returning to the US.

Looking forward to experiencing whatever else is in store!

Paz, Amor y Felicidad,

Rowan

P.S. Some of my latest travel adventures:

OPORTO, PORTUGAL
porto-grupo  Oporto estructura.jpg

MADRID, ESPAÑA

img_3334
Baby head statue!

 

img_3345
Palacio de Cristal

ARANJUEZ, ESPAÑA

img_3453 img_3432

MANZANARES EL REAL, ESPAÑA

img_3591
Tower-view of fall-kissed trees
IMG_3596.jpg
Castillo de los Mendoza
IMG_3599.jpg
Vegetarian lunch of champions
Leave a Reply

